Warriors (and Cassia’s first date)

Today I am grateful that…
1) My kids have such a group of good friends.

image

Two Towers movie night on Friday

image

image

I got to discuss, with this little group of young warriors,  the powerful messages in that movie. 

2) That this young lady went on her first date with this young man. Being a mom that is not wanting to accept that her little girl is growing up, it helped a lot to have her go with one of the kindest, most sincere and respectful, good young men that I know.

image
They played games and went out to lunch. She had a great time.

3) That these two handsome men got to go to a football game today.
image

4) That I was also able to go on a mommy- daughter date with this incredible young lady. We saw Les Miserables. It’s probably the 4th or 5th time I have gone to see that play and it
enlightens and lifts my soul every time. 

image

image

Hot chocolate after the show

Bedtime thoughts….It probably sometimes seems like I am rather unaware of the suffering that is taking place outside my little home. I am unaware in a way.  I don’t watch TV much.  Bill is my main news source. But my heart breaks at what I hear. I am well aware that we are at war – with terrorists, addictions, disorders, disease, selfish motives.  That people are suffering awful things every day.  I want to do something about it with all my heart. 

That is why I work so hard at being a mother.

I believe love is the only power that can save us.  The most powerful message in Les Mis for me is that one act of pure, Christlike love can change so much for so many. I want to raise children who will love others. Who will change the world one act of caring at at time.

Do you hear the people sing
Lost in the valley of the night?
It is the music of a people
Who are climbing to the light.

For the wretched of the earth
There is a flame that never dies.
Even the darkest night will end
And the sun will rise.

They will live again in freedom
In the garden of the Lord.
We will walk behind the ploughshare;
We will put away the sword.
The chain will be broken
And all men will have their reward.

Will you join in our crusade?
(Here the audience began to rise one by one at Davis High)
Who will be strong and stand with me?
Somewhere beyond the barricade
Is there a world you long to see?
Do you hear the people sing?
Say, do you hear the distant drums?
It is the future that they bring
When tomorrow comes!


(Around 6:24 is when the part I most love starts to come on).

2 thoughts on “Warriors (and Cassia’s first date)

  1. As I read through this, it made me think of President Ezra Taft Benson. Things going on in this world have me remembering him a lot lately, because he talked so much of what was ahead for us. He also gave such great inspiration and guidance as to how to handle the tough and troubled times. How to be happy in this life, in the Gospel with all that is going on in our lives, and around us. Here is one of his talks. https://www.lds.org/manual/teachings-of-presidents-of-the-church-ezra-taft-benson/chapter-4-living-joyfully-in-troubled-times?lang=eng

    Love you all! Grandma and Grandpa Worwood

    Like

  2. Oh! Seeing that room full of young warriors stirs my heart! My kids miss them, but I must remember that we are where we need to be :). You are wonderful! Thanks for your inspiring words about the future. God is real. He will be triumphant and He can be daily triumphant in our lives.

    Like

Leave a comment